Moroccan Food?


Is it really Moroccan food, or some concoction?

Today I briefly saw Nigella putting a Moroccan dish together on tele. She said she thought it wasn’t Moroccan but had inspiration from there. It was a leg of lamb smothered in spices and cooked in the over for an hour and half until crisp on the outside, but tender on the inside, accompanied with cucumber yoghurt mix in pitta bread.  Yumm right?

Well, although I am Mediterranean I don’t really like lamb cooked many different ways and so normally don’t stock up on it unless there is a special occasion.

Normally however, I would have lamb mince in the fridge and I will mix this with pork mince and make my spaghetti Bolognese sauce. Today, I was inspired by Nigella so I decided to come up with a new concoction.

I chopped up 3 celery sticks, 2 carrots, 2 small peppers, a small bunch of parsley, an onion, 2 sprigs of spring onion, a handful of chives.

I normally cook with peanut oil, but if you allergic to peanuts use vegetable or sunflower. I heated that up and put 500 grams of lamb mince, cooked it nicely and added the following spices generously:

– mint

–  ground nutmeg

– basil

a sprinkle of the following as well:

– paprika

– red chilli powder

– black pepper

– ground cinnamon

wow, I am really precise aren’t I? Well if it’s any consolation I cook to taste rather than measurements.

I then added my chives, onion and spring onion. Mixed this together with the mince to transfer the spice. Then added a spoon of red grape & Framboise jelly and a spoon of Cranberry & caramelised red onion chutney, and lastly half a spoon of mint sauce.

Once I mixed this well and the onion were soft I added a sprinkle of almonds, my carrots, celery, parsley and peppers.

Viola! don’t overcook, let it stay crunchy. Yumm.

To accompany this I made bulgur wheat.

Bon apetite… but if that’s too adventurous for you… sorry.

Oh, I forgot what do we call it? Any ideas?

7 thoughts on “Moroccan Food?

  1. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation but I find this matter to be
    actually something which I think I would never understand.
    It seems too complex and very broad for me. I am looking
    forward for your next post, I’ll try to get the hang of it!

  2. I like the helpful information you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and check again here regularly. I’m quite certain I’ll learn plenty of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

Leave a Reply

