How to make funky cot bed bumpers


My first day away from work was on Friday and from the morning I really felt down, because I wouldn’t see the people I basically live my day to day with for a while now. Given that the baby could come as early as 2.3 weeks from now, I felt like I needed to take my annual leave.

I am not somebody who easily sits still. So.. I had to find myself some entertainment, unfortunately that came at a cost of £200.00 for various craft materials. Thank goodness my husband didn’t throw a fit when I told him.

I find a lot of solace in creating things and I have been doing this since I have been little, so there is no given up now.  In the next couple of posts, I will keep you up to date with all my little projects. One of which is making a cot bed bumper.

They can be generally quite pricey at the store and not exactly what you are looking for in terms of patterns. They are really, really simple to make.

Everyone has a different length cot bed, so I will leave the measurements up to you, but just mention what I have used.

  1. padding for the bumpers (2 sheets, 1 metre in length and 30 cm tall)
  2. colourful material of your choice (1.5 metre by 1.5 metres in length)
  3. thread and needles
  4. ribbon
  5. a sewing machine (unless you going to do it all by hand)

What you need to do is measure the filling for the cot bed and cut it down to size, then wrap the material around it and see where you need to sew in order to enclose it like you would a pillow. Sew the bottom part first and then the side, always sew on the inside of the material. You will now have something that looks like a pillow case with one open end. Put the filling inside and see how far you need to cut in order to have some material still left over for the end (approximately 3cm). fold the corners of the end material and sew on the inside for a perfect finish.

This was the easy part.

Now take your ribbon and cut it into strips, short enough to make little bows out of, but not too long so that they become a hazard. I always cut the ends at an angle because it looks nicer and I put a bit of material glue on the inside and let it try so that the material of the ribbon doesn’t come apart. On the opposite site of the ribbon, which is the side I am going to sew onto the bumper, I first stitch across it so that it doesn’t fall apart and then I sew it on. I make sure where I am sewing it on is near the end of the bumper cover and on the stitch that I put through with the sewing machine to make the finishing effect. By doing this I am reducing the visibility of my new stitches for the ribbons. On my cot bed bumper I have had to sew on 3 pairs of ribbons on either side.

The reason why I do not sew the encasing closed is because I may want to wash it in the future and I may not want to wash the filling as well as it can lose its shape. You decide what’s best for you. If you don’t want to put ribbons, you can use buttons, or clips or anything that will do the same job.

You hopefully will have some material left over from the initial cover, this you need to keep! You will make your straps for the cot bed bumper from this. You need to make sure it is sewn on one end and if you take it, it looks like a tunnel. You will then have to cut as many strips as you need for the size of cot bed bumper you are going for. Make sure to reinforce the stitching on the end once you have cut the strips. Then sew, with your sewing machine, along the left inner side the material together. Gently fold the strip outwards so that you can now see the pattern. You will need to carefully fold in the two unsewn sides towards to the inside and sew the strip shut.

Choose where best to attach your strips to the bumper. I usually stitch this on by hand. For my cot bed I decided to make 6 strips which will tie onto themselves once they go around the cot bed rails.

That is as simple as it gets.

8 thoughts on “How to make funky cot bed bumpers

  1. hello where did you find that cot bed bumper cover from to make it as i have been looking for the same one and like yours could you give me a website on were you got it from or if you want i could buy it off you for a price of your choice when you have read this reply message could you reply to my email address ashmoore098@gmail.com thank you.

Leave a Reply

