Week 17 to 20 has been tough


It is unbelievable how quickly time has passed us by. I sat on the couch this evening reminiscing and going through all the “old” photos of my son. I used to take a couple of pictures a day, that has gone down to a few a week now. I like to take more videos as I am recorded the drastic changes in behaviour and movement on a daily basis.

I thought I had it all figured out, feeding times, nappy changes and sleep times. All the things you read about being ready and there, then all of a sudden out of the blue everything changes. Well that did happen to us on week 16/17. My son decided not to sleep and stay awake until 12/1 in the morning. To wake up through the night again and feed every 2 to 3 hours. He also decided that he wanted CONSTANT attention, if you don’t pay him attention then things get worse and tempers rise.

20130227_000946

I found that part so hard, not having a baby taking a proper nap during the day so that I could feed myself, bathe, cook dinner, dress properly and do some housework. No sir! That plan is out!
Instead I’ve been losing weight and when I get a chance I use it to go to the loo :).

Hyperactive you say, well I think the very word is too bleak to describe it. Crying and kicking and fussing and laughing at the same time, definitely not something I fully understand.

I then came across an article of a mom desperately trying to get the message passed along that after week 17 things change and they become more needy with tendencies towards separation anxiety.
I also began looking into the developmental milestones of this age, and I found a really fascinating website.
http://www.babyzone.com/baby/baby-week-by-week/_page-2

My friend also posted a really interesting article about needy children and I also found that pretty informative. http://jessswales.blogspot.co.uk/2013/02/high-need-babies.html
It definitely defined my son to a T and I realize now that I need to just keep going at it and I do so with more love and patience.

Just wish I could get some extra sleep.

Leave a Reply

