So what if my baby wears Ralph Lauren from time to time?


My baby boy is one month short of a year and I have finally decided that parenting is a full time job. It is probably the most rewarding and frustrating job you might have, but the benefits are endless and absolutely gob smacking amazing.

When it gets tough, you got no option but to get tougher. When it gets rough, you got no option but to keep going….. and when they get a cold… you get one too eventually. Worst of all is, you can’t call in sick!!! You can call friends and parents, but moaning won’t help, they’ll just tell you “that’s the way it is” and “we have all been through it”.

The big question after all is, “Are you prepared for another one?”.

I have to say that question has been swimming in my head for some time now and there are a lot of mixed emotions. I absolutely love spoiling my child. The old me would have said…”Why do kids have to wear labels, they grow out of their clothes so quickly and it will just be a waste of money?”. I didn’t realise I would  completely cut down spending on myself and just spend on my child. Anything from educational toys, fancy clothes, books and everything in between. Even dinner has become a permanent gourmet session.  Would I have to stop spoiling him when I have a second, because I would have to cut down on spending? Or would it be cheaper as you got some hand-me-downs? Do you have to share your love?

When I hugged my child tonight to put him to bed I thought to myself, thank you God for blessing me with this wonderful baby and for allowing me to become a mom. Lately I have been reading on facebook a lot of messages about how wonderful moms are. I bet a lot of those messages are written by moms. First you don’t really get to appreciate your mom until you have one. You realise how unselfish she really is. To be a mom you have to give freely, everything… literally. I mean I don’t eat half the time cause my son wants my food, even-though it’s the same as his. The best pieces now go to him, everything is reserved and booked and cooked according to the babies needs. The husband also kinda takes a backseat.

What we forget about is how wonderful our kids are and how much satisfaction you get from the little things. My parents and parents in-law are the same as us, all you hear is “Look at him, look what he is doing!” He may have done it 20 times, but it’s just as exciting when you see it happen again and again, until he masters that skill. It’s funny, because we satisfied with just a smile in the beginning and then everything they learn is like a major achievement. Every time my son goes to the toilet to do a number two in the potty I get so super excited and now he even claps for me when he is finished. I don’t see him doing that when he is 20, do you? He will probably be completely embarrassed if he had to read this in the future.

I was saying something to a friend of mine the other day that makes me look at life in a completely different light. Whenever someone ever asked me my age I would say 1 year higher than I was, I was constantly sprinting ahead. When I hit 24 I stopped that habit and now it’s like, “How old am I? Oh, I don’t know! Let’s calculated… 1..2..3…….uhm.. twenty-…?”

Image

When our children are first born we just super excited about having them and we can’t wait till they can roll-over, sit-up, crawl… etc. We compare them to the other kids their age. We wonder why our kids haven’t learnt to do this or that as quickly as their peers. STOP and slow down.

Do you really want them to grow up so quickly? They won’t be babies anymore.

Do you really think they won’t learn those skills eventually anyway? Of course they will.

Just because Jerry got his first tooth at 4 months and yours at 14 months! So what, did you ask Jerry’s mom how it feels. She was probably totally excited about it when it happened, or maybe under slept and then she realised she has to brush the tooth. 10 months of brushing you didn’t have to do!! Turn the negative thinking into positive thinking and let nature just run it’s course.

Anyway, I enjoy being a mom and wondering if I can repeat it all over again. Oh and who cares if they grow out of the expensive clothes, at least they look cute in them. By the way, you can buy it on SALE :).

Leave a Reply

